United States and United Kingdom Warns Citizens Of Potential Terrorist Threats In Abuja


On Sunday, 23 October, 2022, the United States Embassy issued a security alert on its website, warning its citizens of “elevated risk of terror attacks” in parts of the country.

In its statement, the United States Embassy specified Abuja as the location most at risk of terrorist threats.

The Embassy further stated that the terrorists may target government buildings, places of worship, markets, schools and places of public gatherings. In light of the threats they have decided to offer reduced services until further notice.

The British High Commission in Nigeria in similar vein also warned its citizens in the country via a post on the High Commission’s website reading;

“There is an increased threat of terrorist attack in Abuja. You should stay alert, consider movements carefully, follow the local news and the advice of security authorities”

This is coming just days after the Australian government warned its citizens not to travel to Nigeria over flooding and insecurity that has ravaged and destroyed many parts of the country.

The consulate gave a long list of states in the country they wanted Australian citizens to avoid, including Abuja and its surrounding areas due to terrorist attacks and potential kidnapping threats.

In their statement, the Consulate stated;

“There have been significant casualties and widespread damage to infrastructure caused by severe flooding. Essential services may be disrupted. Follow the advice of local authorities and check the media for updates.
“The potential for terrorism, kidnapping, crime and civil unrest remains high throughout Nigeria.
“Reconsider your need to travel to Nigeria overall, including the capital Abuja and surrounding areas, due to high threats of terrorist attack and kidnapping, the volatile security situation, possible violent civil unrest and high levels of violent crime.
“Do not travel to Adamawa, Anambra, Akawa Ibom, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Borno, Cross Rivers, Delta, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Niger, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe and Zamfara States.”


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.